Temptation, Self Control and That Crazy Dream You Were Scared To Even Tell Anyone About

Temptations seem to go hand in hand, you start letting one thing slide and others follow. You’re tempted to eat too much and you do and then again and again. Before you know it, it’s a habit to have whatever you want and that starts to seep into everything you do. I have put on half a stone (that’s 7 pound to any Americans out there) the last few weeks and I didn’t work on my novel this weekend. To everyone else there is no connection but I know that I have begun to do whatever I want in the moment rather than thinking of the longer term satisfaction. If I wait until I feel like I have to write or I’ll go mad, it will be a few weeks but if I make myself sit down and do it I will enjoy it every time. If I wait until I have to lose weight or go mad, it will be a few months but if I engage my self control and lose weight now I know I will find it satisfying to see those numbers go down, to feel that my belt is a bit looser.

It is so important to stop and give yourself a little time to think about what you really desire and take steps toward it, rather than just doing whatever you want right now. I am not that great at this but I am getting better. A few years ago I managed to lose four stone (56 pound) by using a bit of self control to eat less and go for a walk every morning, that’s why gaining a few pound now is such a thing for me, I know that I could very easily become that fat guy again. I know that I could very easily stop writing because I can’t be bothered or I don’t feel like it, or I’m tired. What I want to do is to put my arse in that chair and write because I know I’ll enjoy it, I know I’ll find it so much more satisfying than almost everything else I do but I know it takes a little bit of effort, a little bit of self control to start yourself on the journey that your heart wants you to take.

Think about it, what do you want to do? Even if it’s crazy, even if it will never make you a penny, go and do it, not because some random bloke on the internet told you to, but because when you’re honest with yourself your heart longs to follow that dream.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Temptation, Self Control and That Crazy Dream You Were Scared To Even Tell Anyone About

  1. This blog is very well written and I appreciate your efforts..

Leave a Reply

