Make The Future You Want One List At A Time

I was given some great advice a few days ago by a bloke called Dave I’ve known for a long time and respect a lot. He told me that he was busy and stupid and that’s why everything he has to do goes on a list. I had been complaining about feeling stuck in a rut with work. I work for a large retail chain, I have worked there for almost three years. When I got the job back in 2010 I told myself six months, a year maybe, but it has been almost three. I already put most everything on a list, I have a white board above my desk at home with everything written on it, I use my phone more as an electric diary than as a phone, I’m always making notes on post-its but whenever I dare to put anything on the list about my future it always goes at the bottom of the list and I never quite get to it or sometimes I sit there for a minute and think about what I want to do then give up and go watch TV. It always seemed to vague a notion, to ephemeral an idea, you can’t put on a list that by the end of the week or the end of the month your going to have decided what you want to do with the rest of your life!

Can You?

I have been subscribing to the Inspiration Myth when it comes to my career, I need to take my own advice and put my arse in the chair and take practical steps to find a way forward that is better, I’ve got to stop looking for perfect and start looking for good, if I keep waiting for perfect I have to wait in a job that I hate a little bit more every day. That’s a very depressing waiting room.

None of us should use a bad economy, or an unemployed friend, or a lack of time or anything else as an excuse for not taking positive practical action to improve our lives and the lives of those we care about. We are only short changing ourselves.

Every new struggle I face makes me more thankful that I know my God, when we focus on God the big and the scary seems easier, he won’t do everything for me but he’ll help me to face things day by day.

God Bless

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make The Future You Want One List At A Time

  1. Lists help, action is better!

Leave a Reply

