The Cure To Boredom

We make bad choices when we are tired. When I’m tired I eat to much, I spend all day watching t.v and reading facebook. Then at the end of the day I get annoyed that I haven’t achieved anything all day. Quite often when I’m feeling tired it has more to do with being bored and unsatisfied with what I’m doing than actually needing more sleep and as much as I love food, t.v and facebook they do not make for a satisfying life in isolation. It is important to understand the reasons for why I feel this way sometimes and so that I can begin to make better choices. If I sit down with a good book or better still sit down to write a good book I begin to feel better, less tired, less bored, less unsatisfied.

When you are tired and bored with what you’re doing try to find something to do that will make you feel satisfied and worthwhile in what you’re doing.

It’s like something I learned a long time ago. Often when it’s Sunday morning and you don’t want to go to Church that is the time you need to go the most. When you really don’t want to talk to someone often it’s because you know you need to have a conversation you don’t want to face but you’ll feel better after you do. When you feel like it would be impossible to write is the time when you need to the most and once you sit down and start you’ll feel so much better.

More of the same dull routine will never be a cure to boredom. Here are a few words from Psalm 121 that encourage me when I am feeling tired and bored, words that remind me God never grows tired or bored.

“I lift up my eyes to the hills – where does my help come from? My help comes from the lord, the maker of heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip – he who watches over you will not slumber”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

