If All You See Is Problems

Last week I wrote about how sometimes it takes all the effort you have just to show up at Church and how you just have to say to God that was all I had, I need you to do the rest.

It was so weird but a few days later I found myself feeling exactly like that. I’d had a great week at work and all was going well with my family (which is a bit of a miracle with some of the drama’s my brother and his extremely pregnant fiance have had the last couple of years since their first kid was born) but for no reason I could really fathom I got really depressed at the weekend. I could see nothing but my problems.

Just to make it more awkward we are filming a music video with the youth group at Church so last Sunday everyone in Church was supposed to dress up colourfully and dance around for the filming. I would normally love this but that morning I couldn’t think of anything worse than that.

There’s a beautiful verse for those times when all you can see is your loneliness and your pain and your issues, a verse for when you problems seem huge.

“Keep your eyes on Jesus, who both began and finished this race we’re in. Study how he did it. Because he never lost sight of where he was headed – that exhilarating finish in and with God – he could put up with anything along the way: Cross, shame, whatever. And now he’s there, in the place of honour, right alongside God. When you find yourselves flagging in your faith, go over that story again, item by item, that long litany of hostility he plowed through . That will shoot adrenaline into your souls!” (Hebrews 12:2-3, the message)

My life may not be what I want it to be but there’s a lot in it to be thankful for and I know that I am moving forward, with the support of the creator and the saviour of the universe, toward a wonderful eternity.

God never said we wouldn’t have problems, he said he would help us through them.

God Bless

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

