Making Sense Of People

Does anybody really understand themselves all the time? Can anyone make sense of every decision they make? I think we spend our whole lives trying to make sense of ourselves and along the way we also struggle to understand other people and to even begin to comprehend the world we live in.

There’s a verse about this in Romans which I’ve always connected with.

I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it.

Instead I do what I hate. (Romans 7:15 NLT)

I understand myself better than I used to but I still make decisions and have reactions that I can’t explain until weeks or months later. If I can’t understand myself and I know everything there is to know about me, how can I ever make any sort of informed judgement about another human being?

That is one of oh so many reason that I believe we need God, he completes the equation. With him I start to make sense, other people start to make sense and the world starts to make sense. With him I can make the right choice at least sometimes, with him I can begin to understand other people by trying to see them the way he sees them.

He sees each one of us as we are, he knows that sometimes we can’t even work ourselves out, he is the one that actually understands us. He may be the only person who has ever actually completely understood a single human being.

Whatever you believe, I’ll tell you this, I don’t make sense without him.

God Bless.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

