Stop Praying

When we know and love God sometimes we feel like we should pray about everything. We can, we absolutely can pray about anything and everything but I’m convinced it’s not always the best idea.

There are plenty of things that God has given us the ability to fix for ourselves, and like any good parent he wants his kids to grow stronger and more mature, so if you’re asking God to do something you could do for yourself why not stop praying and start doing.

There’s an old story I love, I have no idea where it came from or whether it ever really happened but I think it makes my point perfectly.

There was a flood and a Christian man found himself trapped in his house by the rising water. Before long he was stuck on the roof. He sat on that roof praying that God would save him. After a few hours a boat came past and the man in the boat called up to the man on the roof offering to take him out of the flooded area. The man refused saying that God would save him. In the same way he turned down a second boat and a helicopter. The water kept rising and the man drowned. When the man got to heaven he asked God “why didn’t you save me?” and God replied that he’d sent two boats and a helicopter.

This man thought he was being spiritual and trusting in God but really he was foolish, he sat and prayed rather than doing what God had put within his power to help himself.

If you have been praying for something for a long time and you’re wondering why God hasn’t answered ask yourself if there’s something you should be doing to be the answer to your own prayer.

When I was at uni my Asthma got really bad during the summer before my second year, by the time I started lectures again I could barely walk into the kitchen without feeling out of breath, every day was a struggle. I prayed for healing so many times for several months but I wasn’t feeling any better. Eventually I realised I had to do what I could to help myself so I started walking everyday and I started to feel better. Today it’s seven years since that and I still walk every morning to keep my Asthma under control (On a side note all that walking helped me loose a lot of weight). If I had spent the last seven years praying for healing I could very well still be gasping for breath every day of my life but I used the strength God had given me to help myself.

There will always be plenty to pray about but sometimes you just have to get up and do something.

God Bless

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

