The Best And The Worst Day

Fingerprints are fascinating things, every person in the world has different ones, even identical twins don’t have matching fingerprints. I read somewhere that this is because they are formed when we press our fingers against the edge of our mother’s womb before we are born. Even identical twins will have different fingerprints because they pressed in different places.

So even before we are born tiny decisions which we don’t even think about are changing who we are and who we will be. I am a writer, (Even though I’m not published yet,) that is how I think of myself, it is who I am, who I want to be, what I love to do. The other day I was thinking about why I am a writer, what made me want to do this?

The scary thing is I think it traces back to the worst thing that ever happened to me, my Dad’s suicide when I was eleven. When he died it showed me so powerfully that I am not in control of what happens to me or the people that I care about. As I grew up for a long time this made me try to control everything as much as I could, still to this day I feel better if I am in control. If I make the decisions so that I know what’s coming, if I drive so that I can leave when I want. Part of what appeals about writing is that in my books I create the world and the characters and I say what’s going to happen (although sometimes my characters surprise me by doing something I didn’t think they’d do until the moment I am writing it.)

I like who I am and I like what I do so the worst thing that ever happened to me is also the best, it is the day my life veered off from what it might have been to what it is.

The worst thing that ever happened to Jesus was being cut off from God as he hung on a cross dying a torturous death but this is also the best thing that ever happened to him because in doing it he saved every one of us who love him and follow him.

The best and worst moments of life are often one and the same, if you are struggling through difficult times look to Jesus who went through even more for you and look to where your struggling might take you. One day you may look back and realise that you had to go through that to get to where you wanted to be.

However you feel about your struggles, if you trust in Jesus you can know that he is walking through them with you.

God Bless

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

